Clerical changes announced for the Diocese of Meath

14 May, 2019 | News

Bishop Tom Deenihan, Bishop of Meath, has announced the clerical changes in the diocese for 2019.

Bishop Deenihan has appointed Father Joe Gallagher, PP, Tullamore, as Vicar General.  Father Gallagher will join Father Declan Hurley, PP, Navan, who is also a Vicar General of the Diocese.  The Vicar General assists the Bishop in the Governance of the Diocese and also acts as a Trustee of the Diocese.

Bishop Deenihan has accepted the resignation, on grounds of age, of two priests: Father Joe Clavin, PP Dunshaughlin and Father Paddy Keary, PP Clara.  Father Clavin was ordained 51 years ago and Father Keary was ordained 54 years ago.  Father Clavin will continue to minister in Dunshaughlin parish as an assistant priest.  Bishop Deenihan has thanked both of them for their lifetime work for the diocese and the people whom they served.

Father Paul Crosbie, who has served as Diocesan Secretary to Bishop Smith and as Administrator of the Cathedral leaves Mullingar after sixteen years and becomes Parish Priest of Trim.  Bishop Deenihan thanked Father Crosbie  for his dedicated service to the diocese and to Bishop Smith. He also thanked him for his support and guidance since his episcopal appointment last year.

Father Derek Darby, the Parish Priest of Ashbourne has been appointed Administrator in Mullingar and Episcopal Vicar for Pastoral Planning and Development.  An Episcopal Vicar is a priest appointed by the Bishop to oversee an important aspect of Diocesan life on the bishop’s behalf.  Bishop Deenihan said that Pastoral Development and Planning were essential for the future of the diocese and the welfare of its parishes and said that Father Darby was an ideal man to oversee such a task.

Bishop Deenihan has also put in place structures in two areas where priests will work in close cooperation.  In Duleek and Donore, Father John Conlon will continue in the role of Parish Priest of Duleek and will become Administrator of Donore.  Father Michael Hinds will become Curate to both Duleek and Dorore, residing in Donore.

Father David Bradley will leave Holy Family, Drogheda after twenty five years and will become Parish Priest of Multyfarnham.  Father Phil Gaffney, currently PP of Saint Mary’s Drogheda, will become, in addition, Administrator of Holy Family, Drogheda.  Both Father Cyprian Solomon and Father Conor Magee will become curates to both the Drogheda parishes and Father Magee will reside in Holy Family Parish.  Bishop Deenihan acknowledged the work that Father Bradley had given to the parish of Holy Family, Drogheda for the past twenty five years and said that he was very much appreciated by the people there for whom he worked so selflessly.

Bishop Deenihan said that such cooperation was desirable in the context of sharing resources and providing support but also in the context of the decline in the number of priests. There is no priestly ordination in the Diocese of Meath this year.  Bishop Deenihan said that it was vital that parishes did all they could to encourage and support vocations to the priesthood in the diocese. He commended this intention to the prayers of the people of the diocese.

The Diocesan Changes will take effect on Monday, 17 June 2019. A complete list of the changes is included below:

Clerical Changes 2019

Fr. Joe Gallagher, PP Tullamore to be Vicar General in addition to Fr. Declan Hurley, Navan.

Fr. Derek Darby, PP Ashbourne to be Episcopal Vicar for Pastoral Planning & Development and Adm, Mullingar.

Fr. Joe Clavin, PP Dunshaughlin to be AP Dunshaughlin, residing in Culmullen.

Fr. Paddy Keary, PP Clara to retire.

Fr. John Conlon, PP Duleek to be Adm Donore in addition.

Fr Sean Henry, PP Trim to be PP Dunshaughlin.

Fr. Gabriel Flynn, AP Dunboyne to DCU and on loan to Dublin, Pro Tem.

Fr. Joe Deegan to be PP Clara.

Fr. Phil Gaffney, PP Saint Mary’s, Drogheda to be Adm Holy Family in addition.

Fr. David Bradley, PP Holy Family, Drogheda to be PP Multyfarnham.

Fr. Paul Crosbie, Adm, Mullingar to be PP Trim.

Fr. John Nally, PP Ballynacargy to be PP Ashbourne.

Fr Shane Crombie, CC Tullamore to be CC Navan.

Fr. Tony Gonoude, Adm, Donore to be PP, Ballynacargy.

Fr Kevin Heery, CC Navan to be CC Mullingar.

Fr. John Hogan, PP Multyfarnham to Post-Graduate Study and Priest-in-residence Dunboyne.

Fr. Declan Kelly, CC Dunshaughlin to be CC Dunboyne.

Fr. Michael Hinds, CC Dunboyne to be CC Duleek and CC Donore.

Fr. Conor Magee, CC Clara to be CC Holy Family, Drogheda and CC Saint Mary’s, Drogheda residing in Holy Family.

Fr. Noel Weir, CC Laytown/Mornington to be AP Navan, Pro Tem

Fr. Cyprian Solomon, CC Clara to be CC Saint Mary’s Drogheda and CC Holy Family, Drogheda

Fr. Fergal Cummins, CC Drogheda to be CC Tullamore.

Fr. Joseph Apust, Diocese of Minna, Nigeria to be CC Laytown/Mornington and Post-Graduate Studies, Maynooth.

For more see



Latest Videos

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This