Dawn Masses to be celebrated on Easter Sunday

by | 22 Mar, 2016 | News

Many parishes will host Dawn Masses on Easter Sunday morning. Dawn Mass is a very spiritual opportunity to celebrate Mass while watching the dawn break over the countryside.

In the Diocese of Ardagh and Clonmacnois, Dawn Masses will take place across the diocese from Athlone to Banagher and from Longford to Ferbane as follows:

  • Longford
    Venue: Famine Graveyard, St. Joseph’s Care Centre
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Athlone
    Venue: Coosan Point, Athlone
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Abbeylara
    Venue: St. Bernard’s Church Grounds
    Time: 7.00 a.m.
  • Ardagh
    Venue: Village Green, Ardagh
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Ballinahown
    Venue: Boher Cemetery
    Time 6.00 a.m.
  • Banagher
    Venue: Old Cemetery
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Drumlish
    Venue: Kilmahon Cemetery
    Time: 6.30 a.m.
  • Drumshanbo
    Venue: Poor Clare Convent Gardens
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Ferbane
    Venue: High Street Cemetery
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Granard
    Venue: New Cemetery
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Killenummery
    Venue: Creevalea Abbey
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Mount Temple
    Venue: Holy Trinity Cemetery, Mount Temple
    Time: 6.00 a.m.
  • Newtownforbes
    Venue: Newtownforbes Cemetery
    Time: 6.00am

Three parishes in the Diocese of Elphin will be celebrating Dawn Mass on Easter Sunday:

  • Roscommon Parish
    Venue: Roscommon Castle
    Time: 7.00am
  • Strandhill/Ransboro Parish
    Venue: Knocknarea Mountain
    Time: 7.00am
  • Castlerea Parish
    Venue: Castlerea Cemetery
    Time: 6.30am

In the Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora, Dawn Mass will be celebrated on Ballyloughane Beach, Galway Bay at 6.30am on Easter Sunday morning. In Kerry Diocese there will be two venues for Dawn Mass in Baile an Fheirtéaraigh at Séipéilín Ghallarais (Gallaras Oratory), Domhnach Cásca at 6.00 am. Also at 6.00am there will be Dawn Mass and an Easter Fire at Kiltomey Cemetery, Lixnaw.

In the Diocese of Kildare and Leighlin there will be Dawn Mass in Saint Conleth’s Parish, Newbridge in the church garden on the Dublin Road, Newbridge at 6.30am. At 6.00am in Clane Parish, Mass will be celebrated in the Abbey Gardens, Main Street, Clane. Bishop Denis Nulty will celebrate the 6.30am Dawn Mass in the Festival Field at Rosenalis for the parishes of Clonaslee, Killeigh, Mountmellick and Rosenalis. Monasterevin Parish will celebrate their Dawn Mass in the beautiful surroundings of Moore Abeey, Monasterevin at 7am. Oisin Park, Killeshin will be the venue for the Graiguecullen/Killeshin Parish Dawn Mass at 6.45am on Easter Sunday.

In the Diocese of Killala the venue for this year’s Dawn Mass will be Leigue Cemetery, Ballina at 6.00am on Easter Sunday. The Archdiocese of Tuam will be celebrating Dawn Mass at several different venues across the diocese as follows:

    • Achill
      Venue: Dawn Mass at the Silver Strand, Dugort at sunrise on Easter Sunday,
      Time: 7.00 am
    • An Cheathrú Rua
      Venue: Aifreann Bhreacadh an Lae – ag Barr a’ Doire
      Time: 7.00 rn
    • Annaghdown
      Venue: Annaghdown Pier on the banks of Lough Corrib
      Time: 7.000 am
    • Athenry
      Venue: Mass at Lady’s Well, Athenry on Easter Sunday morning
      Time: 7.00am
    • Aughaval – Westport
      Venue: Murrisk Abbey, Westport
      Time: 7.00 am
    • Burrishoole
      Venue: Burrishoole Abbey
      Time: 7.00am
    • Claremorris
      Venue: Church of Our Lady, Barnacarroll
      Time: 6.00am.
    • Cong
      Venue: Dawn Mass is taking place at The Chalet, Cong
      Time: 7.00 am
    • Kilconly
      Venue: Under the Round Tower in Kilbannon Cemetery
      Time: 7.00am

People travelling to these Masses are asked to arrive on time and to wear/bring warm clothing, a folding chair or stool (for your own comfort) and where possible share transport in order to assist with parking at venues. People are also reminded that the clocks go forward on Easter Saturday night.



Latest Videos

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This