Pope announces 17 new Cardinals in consistory including Irishman Bishop Kevin Farrell

9 Oct, 2016 | News

Pope Francis at the end of his Angelus on Sunday announced the creation of 17 new Cardinals, including Irishman Bishop Kevin Farrell. A consistory will be held on the 19 of November, the eve of the closing of the Jubilee of Mercy.

13 of the new Cardinals will be under 80 years and will be eligible to vote in a conclave.

The Holy Father said that those chosen come from five continents. They include three American Archbishops and Archbishops from Mauritius and Bangladesh.

Below find the list of new Cardinals

Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy

Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Central African Republic

Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra, Spain

Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha, Brazil

Archbishop Blase J. Cupich, U.S.A.

Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario, Bangladesh

Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo, Venezuela

Archbishop Jozef De Kesel, Belgium

Archbishop Maurice Piat, Mauritius

Archbishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, U.S.A.

Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes, Mexico

Archbishop John Ribat, Papua Nuova Guinea

Archbishop Mons. Joseph William Tobin U.S.A.

Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

Archbishop Renato Corti, Archbishop Emeritus of Novara Italy

Archbishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek Lesotho

Father Ernest Simoni, presbytery of the Archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Scutari – Albania.

Bishop Kevin Farrell was born in Dublin on 2 September 1947.  The second of four sons, he has an older brother, Brian, who currently serves as Secretary of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity in the Roman Curia. Bishop Farrell studied under the Christian Brothers in Drimnagh, and entered the novitiate of the Legion of Christ in 1966. Bishop Farrell was appointed the Prefect of the Dicastery for Laity, Family and Life, and took up that appointment on 1 September this year.



Latest Videos

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This