Pope announces 21 new Cardinals from around the world

30 May, 2022 | News, Pope

At the conclusion of the Angelus on Sunday 29 May, Pope Francis announced that on Saturday 27 August, he will hold a Consistory for the creation of 21 new cardinals. Eight of the newly named Cardinals are from Europe, six from Asia, two from Africa, one from North America, and four from Central and Latin America.

The newly named Cardinals are:

  • Archbishop Arthur Roche – Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments
  • Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung sik – Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy
  • Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, L.C. – President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate for Vatican City State
  • Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline – Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille (France)
  • Bishop Peter Okpaleke – Bishop of Ekwulobia (Nigeria)
  • Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, O.F.M. – Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus (Brazil)
  • Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião di Rosário Ferrão – Archbishop of Goa and Damão (India)
  • Bishop Robert Walter McElroy – Bishop of San Diego (U.S.A)
  • Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva, S.D.B. – Archbishop of Dili (East Timor)
  • Bishop Oscar Cantoni – Bishop of Como (Italy)
  • Archbishop Anthony Poola – Archbishop di Hyderabad (India).
  • Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa – Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília (Brazil)
  • Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr, M. Africa – Bishop of Wa (Ghana)
  • Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye – Archbishop of Singapore (Singapore)
  • Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores – Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción (Paraguay)
  • Archbishop Giorgio Marengo, I.M.C. – Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia)
  • Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal – Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena (Colombia)
  • Bishop Lucas Van Looy, S.D.B. – Bishop Emeritus of Gent (Belgium)
  • Archbishop Arrigo Miglio – Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari (Italy)
  • Fr. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.J. – Professor di Theology
  • Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – Canon of Saint Peter’s Basilica

Pope Francis also said that he will meet with all the Cardinals to reflect on the new Apostolic Constitution Praedicate evangelium.

The College of Cardinals currently consists of 208 Cardinals, of whom 117 are electors and 91 non-electors. As of 27 August, the number will grow to 229 Cardinals, of whom 131 will be electors.



Latest Videos

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This