Pope Francis to receive prestigious European Charlemagne Prize

by | 2 May, 2016 | News

Pope Francis will receive the prestigious European Charlemagne Prize this week.

On Friday, 6 May, starting at noon, in the Regal Room of the Vatican, German Chancellor Angela Merkel will attend the delivery of the Charlemagne Prize to Pope Francis.

He has been awarded the Prize for 2016 in recognition of his efforts at global peace, cross-cultural understanding and unity of Europe.

The prize has been awarded annually since 1950 by the German city of Aachen to people who contributed to the ideals upon which it has been founded. It commemorates Charlemagne, ruler of the Frankish Empire and founder of what became the Holy Roman Empire, who resided and is buried at Aachen.

Some Previous winners of the prize include
– 1982 Juan Carlos of Spain
– 1986 The People of Luxembourg
– 2000 Bill Clinton

In 2004 Pat Cox from Ireland was the recipient
and Saint John Paul II was also presented with the award (extraordinary prize) in 2004.



Latest Videos

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This